Home > About

About the ATProM Research Unit

Thermofluid process modelling applies the fundamental principles of fluid mechanics, thermodynamics and heat and mass transfer to model industrial processes. To accurately model such processes the governing equations of mass, energy and momentum conservation need to be solved for steady-state and transient operating modes in a computationally inexpensive manner. By having access to representative models engineers can: 

  • Analyse the operation and performance of individual components, sub-systems or complete integrated plants to improve the design and operation to meet changing consumer demands. 
  • Detect changes that might indicate impending equipment or process degradation, thereby enabling pro-active and preventative planned maintenance outages. 

The ATProM Research Unit offers students the opportunity to do applied research on projects related to industry.




Management Team

Professor Pieter Rousseau 

Director - ATProM Unit

Process modelling, thermofluid energy systems and process condition monitoring.

Associate Professor Wim Fuls

Deputy Director - ATProM Unit 

Dynamic simulation, power plants, systems engineering,  turbine modelling.

Dr Ryno Laubscher 

Academic Lead - Eskom Specialisation in Energy Efficiency 

Boilers, Thermofluid process modelling, machine learning. 

Dr Ruan Engelbrecht

Modelling of Air-Cooled Condensers, Computational Fluid Dynamics, Reduced order modelling

Priyesh Gosai 

Principle Scientific Officer

Power plant process condition monitoring.

Shane Ferguson

Financial Administrator

Supporting Academics

Professor Arnaud Malan 

Computational Fluid Dynamics 

Professor Edward Boje 


Associate Professor Hennie Mouton


Associate Professor Amit Mishra

Machine Learning

Professor Igor Gorlach 

Control Systems 

Associate Professor Johan van der Spuy

Air Cooled Condensers and Gas Turbines

Dr Michael Owen

Dry cooling, wet cooling, CFD, fluid dynamics, heat transfer



Professor Alfayo Alugongo 

Condition Monitoring